Poem on Thneeds

Thneeds

 

Who needs them?

They’re plastic and cheap

They’re toxic

Society

They’re made by Big Business, Corporations,

Monsanto

They’re stupid, I don’t need them

And yet,

You buy them

You eat them

You wear them and watch them

You give them to your children

To play with

Because they make life easier.

But…

They’re sick, they’re EVIL

They destroy Mother Nature,

and ruin communities

Their comfort blinds us

from Reality

Yeah,

But, they saved your Mom’s life

last Spring

And

without them,

you’re sister with diabetes would die.

How foolish, how fake

You think you can outsmart Nature?

Those things you buy, they’ll never

Fill

That emptiness inside

Go ahead with those green

slimy bills of yours

and try…

You can’t buy happiness

Alright, ok.

Well listen here, pal:

You can’t buy happiness,

You’re right.

But if you are so convinced,

Then why not quit the system?

Those are Big Words you’re talking

But I don’t see you Doing

As for me,

I know that Thneeds aren’t ideal

But I also know that

to change

the system

You’ve gotta be in it.

Those Thneeds, those man-made lies

Keep me

Alive

So for now,

I’m gonna keep eating them,

wearing them,

and owning them,

because they are helping to grow

My

Truffula Seed.

Leave a comment